Facebook Twitter Contact Us

When The Swallows Cry

When The Swallows Cry

When The Swallows Cry

We are joined by the man and the cast behind ‘When The Swallows Cry’ production. The theatrical production Just opened up for its 2018 season at the Baxter Theatre in Cape Town, and is already said to one of the main attractions this season. The production is a compelling trilogy of three scenario playlets that are inter-spliced, they tell the story of Africans or African migrants, and their place living as migrants across the globe. This is at a time where refugees and migrants have had a large political impact on a number of countries globally.

Lesedi Job - Director
When the Swallows Cry was the directorial debut of Lesedi Job, although she is an accomplished singer and actress. She a former recipient of the Sophie Mgcina Emerging Voice Award, she has also received a Naledi Theatre Award nomination, for her role in Lara Foot’s Fisher of Hope. She received a BA Honours degree in dramatic arts from Wits University

Mike van Graan – Scriptwriter
Mike’s name is very renowned in the production and theatrical worlds, as he is an Executive Director of the African Arts Institute and is the former Secretary General of the Arterial Network. He has written multiple award winning plays such as “Brothers in Blood”, that won a Naledi Theatre Award for Best New Play in 2009. He also wrote “Iago’s Last Dance”, which was nominated in the 2009, Fleur du Cap Best New Script category, and managed to premier on the Main Programme at the National Arts Festival.

Mbulelo Grootboom - Actor
Award winning actor Mbulelo Grootboom is one of the leads in the play. He has an extensive resume of acting appearances in television, film and stage. He is a 2012 Fleur du Cap Theatre Award recipient, for his role in Mike van Graan’s Just Business. This is the fifth Van Graan play that he has appeared in.

What's Trending

Get Social

Afternoon Express on TwitterAfternoon Express on Facebook


Stay Connected

Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Contact Us
© Copyright 2015 Afternoon Express